LiquidPlanner

Online Project Management Software

Knowledge Base

  1. Help Center
  2. Home
  3. Knowledge Base
  4. Optimizing
  5. Share Activities by Project

Share Activities by Project

Only Workspace Administrators can set the Shared status of an activity, and enable an Unshared activity for specific projects.

What is a Shared or Unshared Activity?

Shared: An activity that can be used on tasks from any project.

Unshared: An activity that can only be used on tasks from designated projects. An example of an unshared activity could be “Customer Support” or “Consultation” work that is only provided for specific projects.

Set an Activity to Shared or Unshared

For new activities, the Shared box will be checked by default. If you need to change the Shared status of an existing activity, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the User Menu
  2. Select Settings
  3. In the Data Customization section, select Activities
  4. Select the existing activity > click on the Edit button
  5. Keep the box checked to share the activity for all projects and clients. Uncheck the box if you want to limit the activity to specific projects.
  6. Click OK
  7. If you created an Unshared Activity, follow instructions in the following sections to enable the activity for specific projects.

Enable an Activity for a Project

Follow these steps to enable an Unshared activity for a specific project:

  1. Go to the Projects tab
  2. Double click on the Project folder to open the Edit Panel
  3. Scroll or jump to the Activities section
  4. Check the “Use” box next to the activity name

FAQ

If an activity was previously shared for a specific project, and then I unshare it, is that activity still available to that project?

That activity will be cleared from the Activity and Default Activity fields on plan items for that project. The activity fields will be reset to “None.” The activity is also removed from the activity pick list on all items within the project.

If I unshare an activity, what happens to any time that was tracked to the activity before?

The history of time tracked to that activity remains intact for reporting purposes. Time that was tracked using that activity on a task, milestone, or event, will still be presented in the activity field when viewing the existing entry.

What happens if I unshare an activity that used to be shared for the whole workspace?

The activity will remain available on plan items where it was previously used as the default activity or used for time tracking. However, for new tasks or new time entries, the activity will no longer be available unless the activity is manually activated for the associated project.

Related Articles

Create Activities and Link to Tasks
Using Activity Codes for Billing
Using Rate Sheets for Billing and Pay Rules

Share Activities by Project was last modified: April 23rd, 2018 by Keiko Borkenhagen

Was this article helpful?

Top