LiquidPlanner

Online Project Management Software

Knowledge Base

  1. Help Center
  2. Home
  3. Knowledge Base
  4. Members and Guests
}

Managing projects is a team effort. Use these resources to learn how to invite members to collaborate with you on your projects. 

Inviting People Into Your Workspace

Workspace owners & Administrators can invite people into their workspace the following ways: The People tab > Invite Members The People tab > Add+ button > Add Member User Menu > Settings > Members and Access > Add Member Step 1: Enter the email address(es) Step 2:  Choose the access level for this new person If you choose Administrator or Manager, you can finish by clicking Send Invitations. If yo...

Member Access Levels and Privileges

Setting access levels for workspace members means you're able to choose permissions for what they can see and do in the workspace. Whether prompted by having confidential projects in the workspace or simply wanting to reduce the number of projects a workspace member needs to sift through, setting their access level allows you to manage this separately for each individual in the workspace. Workspace owners and administrators can set access lev...

Member and Guest Access FAQs

This article is a reference for workspace administrators responsible for inviting members into the workspace. It provides an overview of member types and access privileges for each. Many topics covered below are also detailed in the help guide articles Member Access Levels and Privileges, Restricted Members and Project Portals. What types of members can I assign plan items to? What is a Real Member? Which member types do I need to pay f...

Adding Members to Teams

Adding workspace members to teams provides the following benefits: You can filter your plan and timesheets by team. The team association is captured in plan exports and timesheet exports. You can create custom reports by team. You can view resource workload by team. You can address a comment to a team, and each team member will receive an email notification in accordance with their notification preferences. You ca...

Virtual Members

A virtual member is a named resource, but it is not connected to a real person.  Here are some reasons why you might use a virtual member: When getting started in LiquidPlanner, you can initially assign work to virtual members, then invite the real users later on when your workspace is built out to a minimal level. This helps avoid confusion that can result when users sign into a workspace that is still under construction. Note that all ti...

Converting a Virtual Member to a Real Member

When getting started in LiquidPlanner, you can initially assign work to virtual members who represent real people not yet active in the workspace. This allows you to stage up projects and assign work without needing to have real members in the workspace while it's still under construction. As soon as you're ready for the real member to join the workspace, you can invite them in to fill the role of that virtual member. This means all of the wor...

Restricted Members

Restricted members are people that hold a seat in your workspace, and are limited to viewing specific projects only. Note that most members of the workspace should be set up as Full Members. This allows for greater transparency and minimizes the upkeep involved in maintaining access on a per project basis for each restricted member. Being a restricted member can be limiting and should primarily be used for clients or when there is sensitive wo...

Restricting Members from Reprioritizing

When setting up Full Members or Restricted Members in your workspace, you can control whether or not the workspace member will be able to reprioritize plan items in the workspace. By default all new workspace members can re-prioritize.  If this permission is disabled, the workspace member will not be able to reprioritize any plan items via dragging and dropping on the Projects tab, or by changing the Project or Package association in the Edit...

Disconnecting Workspace Members

Before Disconnecting a Member There are few important things to consider before disconnecting a member from your workspace. Transferring Plan Items There is no way to filter the project plan for tasks owned by a disconnected member.  This is a good reason to consider transferring ownership before disconnecting. You may want to reassign that person’s active tasks and assignments to a different team member, or to a virtual member if you don...

License Management

Reallocating a Seat When you disconnect a member from the workspace, that license can be reallocated to a new user. Simply send an invitation to the new person. When the new person accepts their invite, the unused license will automatically be reallocated to the new person. Note: if there are inactive members in the workspace – i.e. someone who was in your workspace during the trial period but did not continue as a paid seat – the freed u...
Top