Member Access Levels and Privileges - LiquidPlanner

LiquidPlanner

Online Manufacturing Project Management Software

Knowledge Base

  1. Help Center
  2. Home
  3. Knowledge Base
  4. Members and Guests
  5. Member Access Levels and Privileges

Member Access Levels and Privileges

Available with Professional and Enterprise

Setting access levels for workspace members means you’re able to choose permissions for what they can see and do in the workspace. Whether prompted by having confidential projects in the workspace or simply wanting to reduce the number of projects a workspace member needs to sift through, setting their access level allows you to manage this separately for each individual in the workspace.

Workspace owners and administrators can set access levels a few different ways:

  • During the new member invite process when prompted to choose an access level for the invitee.
  • The People tab > Member List > Click on the member nameAccess Controls tab within their member profile > Select an access level > click Update Access.

There are four member access level settings in LiquidPlanner:

The four types above are the only member types that occupy paid seats in your workspace. The table below shows the privileges for each of these roles.

ADMINISTRATOR MANAGER FULL MEMBER RESTRICTED MEMBER
PLAN MANAGEMENT
View and update projects, sub-folders, packages, clients, tasks, events, milestones, and collaboration content See access rules for Restricted Members
Create, edit and delete custom filters
Prioritize plan items via drag and drop or by selection on the edit panel (update package or project field) See Restricting Members from Reprioritizing See Restricting Members from Reprioritizing
MEMBER MANAGEMENT
Invite new workspace members, resend/retract invitations and disconnect members
Set or change member access level
Set project access for restricted members
Invite new portal guests, resend/retract invitations and disconnect portal guests
Enable portals, view, and edit portal settings, add existing workspace portal guests
Create and delete virtual members
Transfer all of a member’s tasks to a different member  √
CUSTOM DATA MANAGEMENT
Create custom fields
Create teams and assign members to teams  √
Create activities
BUDGET & TIMESHEET MANAGEMENT
View and update bill and pay rate sheets
Review and export timesheet data  √
Create & edit analytics table widgets with bill and pay rate sheet data
REPORTS & ANALYSIS
Projects Tab Reports (Status, Project Workload, Remaining Trend, Total Trend, Date Drift) and the People tab Resource Workload report See access rules for Restricted Members
Create and view analytics roll up reports
View rate sheet (billing and pay) data in analytics reports
DASHBOARDS
Create dashboard
Share dashboard with workspace members
Share dashboard with workspace members & external guests
Create & edit analytics table widgets with bill and pay rate sheet data
View analytics table widgets with bill and pay rate sheet data
Change common filter on dashboard with bill and pay rate sheet data
Duplicate dashboard that shows bill and pay rate sheet data
WORKSPACE SETTINGS (via User Menu)
View and update workspace billing information
Edit workspace email integration security level
View workspace summary status and details
Edit workspace settings
Empty the workspace trash
  • Member access levels are set by workspace Administrators when first inviting members into the workspace or later via the People tab > select member name > Access Controls tab > edit access level > Update Access.
  • Full Members and Restricted Members can be restricted from reprioritizing plan items. You can read about how to set this restriction here: Restricting Members from Reprioritizing
  • Restricted Members have special access rules.  You can read about them here: Restricted Members
  • Only the workspace owner can delete a workspace.

Virtual Members

Virtual members are not connected to a real person.  They are useful when planning work for people who have not yet started with your team, or for modeling external resources.  Tasks may be assigned to them, and you can estimate and log time to their tasks.  You can invite someone to take the place of a virtual member at any time, and all work will be transferred to the real user. Some pricing plans have a limited number of virtual members.

Portal Guests

A portal guest has access to a specific project portal only.  They see all data that has been shared with the portal.  They can own tasks, but they can’t estimate or log time against their tasks.  They can collaborate with other portal guests and workspace members. Some pricing plans do not include project portals and portal guests.

Dashboard Guests

A Dashboard guest has access to a specific dashboard only. Once it has been shared with them, a guest will see all of the data on a dashboard. They have read only privileges – they cannot edit the dashboard, and won’t have access to the rest of your workspace. Dashboard guests are managed under Administration on the Dashboards tab. A workspace can have any number of dashboard guests for no additional charge. Some pricing plans have a limited number of externally-shared dashboards.

 

Related Articles

Setting Up an Administrator
Changing the Workspace Owner

Virtual Members
Project Portals
Member and Guest Access FAQs

Member Access Levels and Privileges was last modified: June 30th, 2017 by Greg Bennett

Was this article helpful?

Top